Midlands Roots Explosion volume 1

Birmingham and the wider West Midlands area of England have been massively significant in the development of reggae music, whether in the uncompromising sounds of Steel Pulse or Benjamin Zephaniah, or in the more chart-friendly singles of Musical Youth or UB40. This collection is the first of a series which aims to highlight some of […]

Jashwha Moses: The Rising

There is much to be said for taking time to get things right and this seems to be the philosophy of Jashwha Moses who, from his initial single release in the late 1970s (with production from Dennis Bovell), took more than thirty-five years to create his first original album, ‘No War on Earth’, released in […]

Morgan Heritage: Strictly Roots

This new album from highly respected US roots reggae outfit Morgan Heritage features a wide variety of guest performers including dancehall A-lister Shaggy, American reggae and R&B vocalist J Boog, Eric Rachmany of Rebelution, Bobby Lee of Grammy-nominated SOJA and a newer Jamaican talent, Chronixx. Many of the tracks within are firmly and strongly in […]